Posted by: Susan | September 17, 2010

Stop singing Dorothy!


On Weds. I was sitting at the dinner table talking to my darling children.  We were eating early and getting ready to go to the kid’s ballroom dance class.  To start the dance class there is a group dance.  Even the moms join in.  It is a lovely dance choreographed to the song Somewhere Over the Rainbow that as we all know comes from the movie The Wizard of Oz.  I was giving a demonstration of how the dance is to be done.  I was seated and only moving my upper body and arms.  OK and my mouthSomeWhereOverTheRainbow510.jpg SomeWhereOverTheRainbow 510 image by valmour.   “You start by moving your arms to the right and then left, spin right then left.  Remember it is a 4 count. 1,2,3,4……1,2,3,4.  Ok, I will show you  and sing…………….Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high, there’s a land that I heard of once in a lullaby. SWOTRB skies are blue, and the dreams that you dare to dream really do come true.”  I was just getting warmed up and was going to belt out the verse about lemon drops when  April chimed in……. “Stop singing Dorothy!”  I just about fell out of my chair.  Stop singing Dorothy.   What a hoot and what a perfect place to say it.  I am not musically gifted.   The kids are tired of mom’s helpful hints about eveything.   Just  ask my older daughter Jennifer.  Off we went to dance class where I practiced my dancing skills and teaching methods on new moms that didn’t know the dance.  I promise I didn’t sing but I did click my ruby slippers and say under my breath- There’s no place like bed, there’s no place like bed.    Oh, that’s right it is supposed to be home.

 

Have a great weekend.   

Responses

  1. Isn’t dancing supposed to invigorate, NOT exhaust, a person? Hmmmmm Anyway, great post, brilliant kids, and…it’s true that there is no place like HOME in BED!

    • A great comment as usual!


Leave a Reply

Categories

