Posted by: Susan | October 19, 2010

Cheerleader


Cheerleader!  What do you think of when you read that word?  A sweet young thing in a tiny outfit?  A mother encouraging her child?  Well this story is NOT about either of those 2 types of cheerleaders.  Go back with me to a time when the only qualifications needed to be a cheer leader were:

1. Can do a cart-wheel

2. Can do a round off

3. Can do the splits

4. Has a big voice

Yes, I met all the above qualifications and was a cheerleader for 6 years.  Fast forward to yesterday.  Monday is the day that the kids bowl.  Yesterday was a beautiful fall day so I decided we should walk to bowling.  April and Jake got a head start because they walk slowly.  Ten minutes later Sam started out and I followed after that.  Sam is like a horse in the gate at a race.  The bell rings and he is off.  He was able to catch up with the kids in a flash.  It took about 20 minutes for us to get there.  We walk along a busy street which we don’t have to cross.  We do have to cross 2 smaller streets and several business parking lots.  Sam still looks “both ways” by just shaking his head to either side.  Now try to visualize this for the end of the story.  Sam, the flash, doing a head shake as he bolts across streets on his way home.   We got to the bowling alley where I chatted with some friends, tracked down Sam, listened to Sam complain about having to wear size 5 bowling shoes and  listened to the kids smack talk to each other for 2 games.  I sat with them and took lots of pictures.  April runs the bowling machine thingy and records the scores.  She actually had to show a woman next to her how to do it.

The plan was to call Jim and have him pick us up.  It was such a beautiful day I decided we should walk back home.  After bowling was done I told the kids about the change of plans.  They were to hand in their bowling shoes and I was going to say good-bye to some friends.  But wait, what was that flash I saw out of the corner of my eye?  It was Sam taking off towards the door.  I left the other two slow pokes and walked as quickly as I could out of the bowling alley.  It was rush hour in Blue Ash and there were cars everywhere.  About 8 people were getting out of their cars to come into the bowling alley.  Where was Sam?  That kid can’t be that fast can he?  Oh yes he can!  He was just disappearing around a bend in the road and if I didn’t stop him now he would be gone.  He would be flying across the streets with his head shake but not looking routine.  From somewhere deep inside the old cheerleader skill kicked in.  I yelled from my inner core (I had to be heard over the noise of the traffic)….STOP!  Everyone in the parking lot froze.  They looked at me like I was nuts.  The good news is that Sam stopped and waited at that corner while I went back inside to get the other two.  I had to circle the bowling alley twice to find Jake.  The walk/run home took 10 minutes.  Sam ran most of the way but did stop at the crosswalks where I could do a visual from about 100 feet behind him.  I never was able to catch up with him but as long as I can see him I’m fine.

Once a  Marine  cheerleader always a cheerleader!  I’ve still got it even if I can’t do the splits, cart-wheels and round offs any more.  My booming, stop them in their tracks, voice is still going strong!

Responses

  1. I can picture it! Thanks for the laughs 🙂

    • You know because you have experienced the Flash first hand.

  2. That I have!

  3. Some girls have ALL the fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

