Posted by: Susan | November 8, 2010

Marine Corp Birthday Ball and a Young Woman with Down syndrome


Have I mentioned lately that my husband served in the Marine Corps during the Vietnam War and my son is currently a Captain in the Marine Corps?  OK,  probably way too many times.  If you don’t know a Marine let me remind you of the statement, “Once a Marine always a Marine.”  April has grown up hearing about the Marines……………………a lot.  She wants to join the Marine Corps but that is not happening.  This information is to set the stage for one of the most important days of the year for the Marines- the Marine Corps birthday.  The big day is Nov. 10th and it is celebrated by holding a Marine Corps Birthday Ball usually the Saturday night before the 10th.  This is a formal affair attended by Marines, remember their slogan above, young and old.  The Hunk was probably thinking I would go with him but I declined knowing that the conversation would revolve around the, wait for it,  Marine Corps.  After I sweetly declined he was silent for several minutes.  I am thinking to myself that I have really blown it this time.  He then said he would take April.  That man is brilliant.  This would give April her Marine fix and he would have a date.  They both looked fabulous for the Ball.

There was lots of pageantry, bag pipes, presenting of the colors, recognizing the oldest and youngest active duty Marine, cutting  the birthday cake and talking about the Corps.  April got to be part of the Corp for one special night.  Next she will help with Toys for Tots, the Marine Corps toy drive.    OoRah!!!

Responses

  1. marine corps birthday Breaking News…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. I love the photos of the marine birhtday ball I had great time being with my father meeting all the marines soiders I love the birthday cake.

    • I am so glad you could go with Dad.

  3. […] 10th and it is celebrated by holding a Marine Corps Birthday Ball usually the Saturday night before the 10th. This is a formal affair attended by Marines, remember their slogan above, young and old. The Hunk was probably thinking I More… […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

