Posted by: Susan | March 10, 2011

Learning to listen…


On Monday April had her interview with Starfire University.  Starfire U is a new, post-secondary opportunity focused on providing relevant educational opportunities for young adults with disabilities. It combines Starfire’s expertise in advancing socialization with traditional special education techniques. This research-based program will have a positive lifelong impact on the lives of people who experience disabilities.  OK, I copied that right from their web page because it says it so much better than I can.  April was very excited about the interview.

I was allowed to sit in on the interview but not say anything.  Here is April with Krista the Program Coordinator of Starfire U.

Me, sitting quietly next to my daughter and not adding anything was something that rarely happens.   She had journaled the night before about what she wanted to say.  The day of the interview we did not talk about how to answer the questions because I did not want her to get nervous.  And you know what, she did beautifully.  I was so proud of how well she handled herself.  We will find out if she is accepted in several weeks.  I learned some things about April that I didn’t know because I wasn’t thinking about what I was going to say.  Instead I was really listening to April.

If you would like to find out more about this exciting opportunity click here…

http://starfireu.org/pages/about-starfireu.php

Life lesson:  Listen!


Leave a Reply

Categories

