Posted by: Susan | November 14, 2011

World Diabetes Day


Today is World Diabetes Day but why should I care?

I care because of my guy Jake who was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes when he was just 18 months old.  I knew the symptoms of this disease and told the doctor that I thought he had it.  I had to insist that they test him.  You need to know the symptoms too.

Type 1 Diabetes

  • Frequent urination
  • Unusual thirst
  • Extreme hunger
  • Unusual weight loss
  • Extreme fatigue and Irritability

Jake had 4 out of the 5 symptoms and it came on very suddenly.  Another symptom not listed is vomiting.  It is almost like they have the flu.  Make sure if your kids seem to have the flu and any of the other symptoms that you insist they be checked for diabetes.  The first test is a simple urine dip.

Today I am going to wear blue, the color of diabetes awareness, and hug my guy Jake.  I am going to thank the Lord for the insulin shots that keep him alive and pray for a cure for diabetes.

Responses

  1. Susan, saw your comment on SouleMama this morning. Thank you for the reminder. I do social media for our local community hospital so you better believe I’m going to mention this there and link to JDRF. Thank you.

  2. What a darling! So glad he’s well (thanks to his mama!).


Leave a Reply

Categories

