Posted by: Susan | December 6, 2011

Christmas cards


Sam received the first Christmas card at our house this year and I was very surprised by his reaction.  Sam is my wild guy who bounces from one thing to another always on the move.  When I gave him the unopened card I expected him to rip open the envelope, scan the card and toss it somewhere in the house.  Instead he did this:

You will notice he is very calm and concentrating quite hard as he reads his own card.  Then I started to think about what it would be like if we sent cards addressed to my kids friends and included a picture inside of our family.  Mail, just for them.  Would they be excited as Sam?  I think they would.  So that’s what we will be doing for the rest of the week.

Last week April, Jake and Sam went to the library to make a gingerbread house.  Yes, that is real gingerbread that someone made!  Notice how uninterested the boys are.  When I asked Jake how he liked making the house he said, “Boring!”  My guess is April made it and the boys watched or maybe handed her things.  Mental note for next year.  Teenage boys could care less about making cutesy gingerbread houses.  Lesson learned.

Responses

  1. Christmas cards are a great idea! 🙂 And yes, my 10 year old boy wouldn’t enjoy gingerbread houses either… he’s much too… “cool” for that! hahahaa


Leave a Reply

Categories

