Posted by: Susan | February 22, 2012

She’s got my back


Last night April, Jake and Sam went to the Yellow Ribbon Support Center to make cards for the troops.  This wonderful organization has sent over 17,500 packages to the men and women in harm’s way.  It was started by a father who lost his son in Iraq.

This volunteer opportunity was part of Starfire’s monthly outings.  We drop the kids off at 6p.m and pick them up at 8:30p.m.  They are transported to the Yellow Ribbon Support Center by volunteers.  The center is about 40 minutes from our house.  Why does this matter you might ask?  It matters because Jake has Type 1 diabetes and to participate in Starfire you must take care of your own medical needs.  Jake would need to check his blood sugar while he was out and eat a snack.  He is able to check his own blood sugar but needs to be reminded about the time to do it.  Not to worry because I have my backup helper, April, with him.  I told her to make sure he checks his blood at 7p.m.  I asked her if she needed to set an alarm on her phone.  “No Mom, I’ve got this”, was her reply.

April in her Marine gear.  Notice the green nails.

I totally forgot about what I had told her to do.  My cell phone rang just after the Hunk and I left the movies (Tuesday night date night).  When I answered I heard, “He’s 156 Mom”.  I might have forgotten but she hadn’t.  Right at 7p.m. she told him to check his blood sugar and then called me.  She really does have my back!

Later this week Jim and I will be going to dinner in our neighborhood.  April will be in charge.  She has just the right mix of bossyness and knowing when to tattle.  Her brothers better stay in line when she is in charge.  She has a cell phone and she knows how to use it.

Responses

  1. “She has just the right mix of bossyness and knowing when to tattle. Her brothers better stay in line when she is in charge. She has a cell phone and she knows how to use it.”

    I love that! It’s great that she is so responsible for herself and her brothers, and what an example she is setting for them!

    btw, I found your blog as I was searching for moms with 20-somethings with Down syndrome. (My daughter will be 21 next month.) We also have (3) people in our house eating gluten-free!) Thanks for all of your sharing about life.
    -Mary Beth

    • I’m glad you found our blog. Susan


Leave a Reply

Categories

