Posted by: Susan | March 12, 2012

I’ll be there…..


I have been listening to Jake and Sam sing I’ll Be There by Michael Jackson for months.  Why, you might ask?  It was one of the 3 songs they sang on Thursday night as part of the Choir Concert that we attended.  In preparation for the concert I practiced with them at home. They brought home the music and I underlined their parts and had them read them to me.  I am not a singer.  They had to learn a song in German too but this momma was unable to help them with that. In addition the speech pathologist at their school worked on articulation using their musical scores.

They had to be at school 2 1/2 hours before the show.  I did a quick check on the guys when I got there.  It looks like they were having a good time while they were waiting to perform! Of course I had to take a few more pictures….

As you can see Jake and Sam are totally included in the choir.  I love all the friends they have made.

The lights went down and I held my breath as my guys came out with the first choir.  Will they remember the words and dance routine?  Will Sam stay focused and not do that crazy peace sign?  Three songs later I exhaled.  It was a job well done.  Sam only took a slight bow at the end and waited until the lights dimmed and he was walking off stage before he gave the audience the peace sign.

We enjoyed the entire performance by the other 5 or so choirs and then headed back to the lobby for refreshments.  The boys hung out with their friends and we enjoyed chatting with some new friends that we met that night.  We were some of the last people to leave because we were having such a good time.

I highly recommend joining the school choir for your kids with Down syndrome.  Music will enhance other learning.  They will learn life skills such as focus, blending in with the group and following directions.  They will also form new friendships.  Many times when we are out in our community kids from school will stop to talk to the boys.  When I ask Jake or Sam how they know them the answer usually is that they met in choir.

Why is Jake channeling The Cat and the Hat?  Tune in tomorrow to find out……………………………………

 

Responses

  1. Another excellent post! I just love reading about extraordinary boys doing cool things like choir. 🙂

    • Thanks Monica for the encouragement!


Leave a Reply

Categories

