Posted by: Susan | March 13, 2012

That’s Odd…..


What do you call a dance that a teen takes his/her parent as their date?  The Odd Couple dance of course.  On Saturday my date, Jacob, and I attended the dance at Sycamore High School.  The theme was Dr. Seuss.  The dance may be odd but the decorations were outstanding.  You entered via a Dr. Seuss looking forest.  But who cares about that.  Check out my toes and new, red wedgie high heels.  I bought the shoes to go with my Cat and the Hat look.  OK and I bought them because they were cute.

Jake was not thrilled to wear this hat.I have never seen decorations like this except maybe at Disney World.  Kudos to the decorating committee.

We had barely gotten into the dance before people started coming up and talking to Mr. Popularity.

How can anyone not look happy in Whoville?  Right now I am mentally singing that sweet song that everyone was singing after the Grinch had stolen all the presents.

See how my 3 inch red high heels and new favorite hat made me taller than all the fathers.  Most teenagers would have been embarrassed by my outfit.  Not Jacob, he did what all the other teens were doing…..ignored me and hung with his friends.  That’s odd, the teens wanted to be with their peers and not their parent dates.

Here’s another odd thing.  Notice how he is smiling when I take pictures of him with his friends?

You’ll be happy to know that I did take my hat off when we went in for dinner.  I really did look rather odd wearing it and really I wanted everyone to notice those red shoes and not my tall hat.  Those shoes have become my ruby slippers.

Tell me the truth, do I look like I have hat hair here?  That’s odd, have hat hair here sounds like a sentence from a Dr. Seuss book.  Right after dinner Jake told me he wanted to go home.  What, no dancing Jake?  Big brother Derek was arriving back in Cincinnati and he wanted to go home to see him.  “Please Jake can’t we dance just a few dances?”, I asked sweetly.  No, he wanted to go see Derek.  My ruby slipper would have to wait for another day to dance.

A few photo ops on the way out…………….Next year I will take Sam and wear my red shoes and dance.  As Dr. Seuss says, oh the places you’ll go………………………..even to an Odd Couples Dance.

Responses

  1. Oooooohhhh, LOVE those shoes. Where did you buy them?

  2. Jacob’s friend is our niece, Addy Enderle. Small world…great picture!


Leave a Reply

Categories

