Posted by: Susan | March 19, 2012

Celebrating St. Patrick’s Day


Oh yes, we all dressed in green for St. Patrick’s Day.  I have made sure through the years to teach the kids the real meaning of this day. Patrick was a real person taken into slavery as a teen, taken back to Ireland and then escaping to go back home.  He became a Catholic priest and went back to Ireland.  We chatted about that in the morning and the fact that Jake’s birth family is Irish.  After that we headed off to the library.

Jake and April are best friends and enjoy doing everything together.  Now you may be wondering where Sam is.  He is so far ahead of us that I couldn’t even take a picture of him.  By the time I took the picture of Jake, April and the flag he was in the library.

Look at these darling siblings working together.  I know I will take a group photo under the shamrocks in the corner of the library.

Right after this picture was taken April kicked Sam for sticking out his tongue and ruining the picture……………………..

Here is just a little more detail of April’s outfit for the day.

After the library we dropped off the books at home and took Max the Wonder Dog to the park.  Here April is talking to big brother Derek while Jake waits his turn.  Where is Sam you might ask?

Sam is dancing an Irish jig on the stage.  After this picture he asked to walk Max home and really we were only about 8 minutes behind him.  We talked on the phone and then strolled home.  When I got home I became slightly alarmed when even though the garage door was open Max and Sam were not to be found.  After calling out I found Sam upstairs.  “Sam, where are you?”  “I’m upstairs with Max.”he replied.  “What are you doing up there with the dog?” I asked.  “I gave him a bath!” he responded.  Max doesn’t do stairs anymore so Sam had carried him up, put him in the tub, washed him with Head and Shoulders Shampoo and dried him off.  Max seemed fine and I am happy to report no more dandruff:)   Another life skill I can check off my list for Sam…dog washing.

Responses

  1. Great pictures!!

  2. So festive! I love April’s socks and laces in matchin green. Teri

  3. Lol. I love your stories… your kids sound fantastic. Great work Sam! Our dog is in desperate need of a bath too… Hope you had a great day, grace


Leave a Reply

Categories

