Posted by: Susan | May 22, 2012

The end of an era…


Jake didn’t want me to take his picture getting on the bus the last official day of high school for Seniors so I just took a picture of my favorite vehicle.  The same bus and bus driver for the 6 years we have lived in Cincinnati carrying my guy back and forth to school where he learns, hangs with friends and takes part of life like every other teenager in our neighborhood.  That’s over and I must confess I feel a twinge of sadness.  It went so quickly and now we are on to the next step.  OK, first we have the Senior Picnic, Senior Slide Show and Graduation ceremony but formal class room instruction…done!  If I ruled the world he would have 5 more years of high school taking just reading, math, art and P.E.

Jake came home yesterday with his cap and gown and immediately had to try them on.  He is not sad but very excited about the future.  He has told me many times, “It’s time to move on Mom.”  We have to wait 9 more days until the actual graduation.

Don’t worry he will not wear Crocs to graduation.

Jake couldn’t wait to show Drew his cap and gown.

Early this morning, while Jake slept, brother Sam decided to try on the outfit too.  This would not have been allowed by big bro Jake if he had been awake.Sorry Sam, you thankfully have a few more years before you graduate.  It’s time for me to put on my big girl panties, suck it up and stop singing my favorite song (The wheels on the bus go round and round…).  Jake’s graduation will be and end of one era but the beginning of another new one.  I will feel much better after I breathe in this for a few minutes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

