Posted by: Susan | July 24, 2012

Down syndrome does not stop my kids from volunteering


Jake, in the middle, enjoying song time

Several weeks ago our church had Vacation Bible School (VBS).  April informed me that she wanted to be a helper and Jake was on board too.  I told them it would involve an early Saturday morning training session, a committment of 5 nights from 6-8:30 p.m., and they would have to miss some of their own activities.  They still wanted to do it.  April was placed with the 1st graders and Jake helped with the crafts.I only have pictures of when I would pick them up at night.  I didn’t stay to follow them around, take pictures, and help them.

April with her group of 1st graders

I was nervous but Jake and April did great.  As they are learning to be independent I am learning to let go.  It a process for all of us.  They can’t wait to volunteer next year.

April with Pastor Tad

Down syndrome doe not stop my kids from volunteering and being part of our church and community.  If you have older children with DS I hope they get to experience the joy of helping others.

Responses

  1. What an encouragement you are to others. Have you ever thought of writing a book to help mothers who have children with DS?

    • No book. I don’t have that much information to share.


Leave a Reply

Categories

