Posted by: Susan | December 13, 2012

My favorite Christmas book


I have a favorite book I love to read to April, Sam and Jake at Christmas time.  This year we read it at one sitting.  The Hunk, also known around here as the Library Lady, read the book to us Monday night after dinner.IMG_5444The Story of Holly & Ivy, by Rumer Godden, takes place in the late 50’s during Christmas time.  It’s a story of an orphan girl, a toy shop and wishing (hope).  The heroes of the story are many and the antagonist is a toy owl.  Before I go on I must tell you that everyone had a case of the sillies when I brought out the camera, except the Library Lady who just kept reading.IMG_5445It is very hard to catch a candid photo of the kids.  Here Jake is doing his best to annoy me.  We all do and impression of an owl hooting when the Hunk reads the part of Abracadabra (the very mean owl) in the book.  We finally had to ask Jake to stop because he was so loud.  He sounded more like a screech-owl than a hoot owl.

IMG_5449

holly and ivyEvery Christmas we read this book out loud and every year I cry (happy tears) even though I know the ending!  Check out a review and a peek of the book here: The Story of Holly and Ivy.  I don’t own the book. I put it on hold at the library the end of November and then return it for the library to store for me until next year.  I think that is a little like cloud computing!

That’s our favorite holiday book.  What’s your favorite?

Responses

  1. I’ve never read the book, but I’m going to see If I can get a copy of it! I love your husband reading it at the table. Sounds like you’re having a wonderful holiday season, as you should! xo Teri

  2. hi April! I clicked over from Design Mom because I saw your comment about the cheetahs. We lived in Cincinnati before moving to San Antonio about a year ago. Anyway, what I really wanted to say is that I also have a daughter with special needs. Her needs are physical as she was born with limb differences on all 4 limbs. Each Friday I do a special needs spotlight and if you’d be interested in talking to my readers about your family I’d love to spotlight you. Feel free to check out my blog and read up on my girls–my daughter with special needs is blog-named Lamp (not her real name of course) and you can read a little about our journey under Lamp links. If you’re interested please feel free to email me at thislittlemiggy @ gmail dot com. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

