Posted by: Susan | February 6, 2013

Surprised!


While waiting for Sam inside the lobby of Sycamore High School I began to look at was hung on the walls.  The same walls that I had walked past many times before and never took the time to look at them.  I was in for a surprise.

IMG_6033The statement, Be respectful of self, each other and the environment., didn’t surprise me because that is really how our school district operates.

IMG_6034Finding Jake’s picture, he has on the black T with yellow design, as part of the permanent display did surprise me.  But wait, there’s more.

IMG_6035That’s my super star Jake on the intramural basketball team.  After seeing his picture displayed I started to think about how thankful I am.  Thankful for all the parents, teachers and administrators in our school district who have made inclusion part of the school culture.  I am sure it took a lot of works and years to accomplish.  We are reaping the benefit by just moving into the district.

Perhaps your child’s school or district is not so accommodating and you have to push and fight for changes and inclusion.  Take heart knowing that not only will it help your child but others that will be following.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

