Posted by: Susan | May 16, 2013

Stranger danger?


We have taught all of our 6  about stranger danger.  With April, Jake and Sam we have added the teaching tool of the Safe Side, which includes a dvd and CD.  The CD  has such hits as: Superhero, Don’t Know, Don’t Talk and Safe Side Close and many days I hear the music wafting up from the basement.  Being such a fabulous mother I have given my kids the proper training in stranger danger…or so I thought!

Yesterday Sam burst through the door and said, “I called 911!”, with a look of terror on his face.  “You did what!”, I replied with a look of disbelief on my face.  “I called 911 because a stranger called me on the phone”, Sam said.  I was dumbfounded and had to think for a minute as I looked out the door to see if a police car would be pulling up to my door after they followed the GPS in Sam’s phone to our house.  He continued, “A stranger called me on the phone and I didn’t know him so I called 911.”  “That’s called a wrong number Sam.  The man made a mistake when he dialed and called your phone.  We do NOT call 911 for a wrong number.”   After a ten minute explanation he got it, I think.  In his defense he has only had his phone for a month and I didn’t teach him about those pesky wrong numbers.photo(6)Later that night we went to dance class.  Sam had totally forgotten about the stranger that called him.  He was more interested in dancing with his friend Bren.  Me, I am still recovering from the 911 call.  I am going to hide that CD………………….

Responses

  1. Haha! thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

