Posted by: Susan | June 25, 2013

Two words I thought I would never say…


When April was born and I found out that she had Down syndrome I looked at her and thought of all the things I thought she would never be able to do.  Here is the problem in that sentence: I thought.  I knew nothing about Down syndrome or my darling April but I was already crossing off the possibilities from her life.  Boy was I wrong.  If you would have told me on April 9th, 1988 that I would be throwing around the words PHOTO SHOOT I would have thought that you were crazy with a capital C!  Fast forward to yesterday and the photo shoot.  Btw, I love saying those 2 words….photo shoot.

April will be part of a new ad campaign for the Hoxworth Blood Center and the photo shoot took place in a photo studio with a make-up artist, photographer and his 2 assistants, videographer, people from Hoxworth and me in attendance.  I am now a stage mom.IMG_1341 IMG_1344Make-up and hair…check.

IMG_1346 IMG_1347Sassy model…check.

IMG_1355Wardrobe change and adjustment…check.

IMG_1360 IMG_1362Video camera rolling and consultation about how to stand…check.

IMG_1364There may have been wild applause by a certain stage mother at the end of the, let me say my 2 favorite words again, photo shoot.  We will have to wait to see how her pictures and video will be used.  April was one of 14 people they used for the ad.

 Woman with Down syndrome raises blood donation awareness, is a blog post written by big sister Jen.  Check out a siblings perspective of what happened.

For now all I have to say is photo shoot, PHOTO SHOOT, photo shoot, photo shoot……….

Responses

  1. Wow!! Yes!! Photo Shoot!! Cheers for April!!!

  2. What a wonderful young woman, encouraged and loved by amazing parents! Kudos!

  3. Fantastic!! Love the pics, and hope you’ll post the finished product when it’s done!! Our chromosomally-enhanced children sure are beautiful. 🙂

  4. April is a beautiful young woman and an true inspiration to us all. Thank you for sharing her with us!

    • Thank you Alecia. She continues to surprise me daily……..

  5. Yea! and Gorgeous!
    and I know, right?!
    and Yea!


Leave a Reply

Categories

