Posted by: Susan | December 28, 2010

Who has down syndrome?


Today I was completely surprised when my older son decided to stay an extra day!  We went bowling as a family.  After taking these photos I realized something…..You take pictures at bowling from behind and from behind you have no idea who has down syndrome.  Everyone at the packed bowling alley was doing the same thing today.  There were families there bonding and bowling and getting out of the cold.  Nobody cared that some of the bowlers had a disability because at the bowling alley everyone is pretty much alike.  We are not talking about league play here.  We are talking about gutter balls, and spares and a few strikes.  We are talking about laughing and joking and clapping when someone does well.  No labels here.  Wouldn’t it be great if that were the case every where?

Bowling….the great equalizer!  I thought I was just going to bowl and instead I learned a life lesson.


Leave a comment

Categories