Posted by: Susan | October 3, 2011

Explaining a mammogram to my daughter with Down syndrome.


This morning I mentioned to April  that I had to leave early to go to a doctor’s appointment.  When she wanted to know where and why I told her that I needed to get a mammogram.  She asked what it was for and I explained it is a yearly exam to check for breast cancer.  I also explained that it was a preventative type of test.  All April heard was blah, blah,blah….cancer.  Now I really had to go into detail to alleviate her fears.  I did have breast cancer 9 years ago but I really thought she didn’t get too much of what was going on.  I was wrong, again.  It was time for me to go or be late so I told her not to worry that I would text her.  This put her at ease I thought.Out the door I ran and later Jim filled me in on the rest of the story.  As April sat having breakfast she said to her dad, “Dad, if something happens to Mom promise me that you won’t marry some hot babe.”  “You mean if Mom dies?”, replied Jim.  “Yes Dad, promise me you won’t marry some hot babe.”

Everything went great and I do not have a reoccurrence of breast cancer.  As soon as I left the office, before I called Jim with the news, I sent April the text- No cancer I’m fine.  She responded in minutes.  Thanks Mom, I love you.  No more worries for my darling April.  No more worries for me except………………..what hot babe does she think could replace me?

 Later that day……………………Celebratory Margarita!

Responses

  1. All around a fabulous story!!

    • Thanks Andi. I miss seeing you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

