Posted by: Susan | March 15, 2012

Where in the world is April?


Since my blog is called April Anecdotes you might be wondering why I haven’t posted about April lately.  There have been no pictures, no quotes, no funny April sayings.  She hasn’t gone with us to concerts or any other activities recently because she has been under the weather.  We have been spreading a cold through the family for the last month and now it’s April’s turn.  I did my usual…over the counter drugs plus lemon and honey hot water……………..

I admit that my motto is, look it up, ride it out or ask a friend.  Sometimes you just have to ask a professional for help so today I took her to the doctor.  She has bronchitis and I am ever so thankful for the Z pack that was prescribed for her.  April is now home, back in bed, propped up on pillows, smelling of Vick’s Vapor Rub, snuggled under blankets watching a movie.  She plans on taking a nap when it is over.

The lesson here is, know when to ask a professional for help.  Is there something that you have been trying to do for your child with Down syndrome and haven’t asked for help?  I can do it myself (I am so guilty of this) can only go so far.  I am thankful for the teachers, doctors and therapists that have helped us along the way.  All I had to do was ask.

Leave a Reply

Categories

