Posted by: Jennifer | July 20, 2008

La Boom Sky


As a little girl April had many made-up words. I am sitting in a thunder storm remembering one of my favorites – “la boom sky.” It sounds so French! It was her word for anything that sounded like the booming thunder of a summer storm. So, you can imagine la boom sky was not a favorite event as she was petrified of loud noises…the car wash, the circus canon, our brothers wrestling!

Another great April word still in use (at least when the oldest three of us get together!): pakella. As in, “I want pakella.” Most people know this as a peanut butter and jelly sandwich… So if you ever visit my parents you can have an instant ‘in’ and ask for pakella for lunch.  

Responses

  1. Oh, I love reading these stories. I am going to link to your blog on mine. I look forward to the day when we have word and speech anecdotes to tell about Kepler. In the meantime, I think pakella sounds like a pretty good lunch!


Leave a Reply

Categories

